Impact Awards

Impact Awards 2018

October 25th | 6-9 pm
Location TBD

Impact Awards

ULI North Texas congratulates our

2017 Vision Award honoree:

Herb Weitzman

Herb Weitzman is the Executive Chairman of The Weitzman Group.

Herb Weitzman is the Executive Chairman of Weitzman.

In 2017 we celebrated the career and community commitment of Herb Weitzman at our 3rd annual Impact Awards Gala, held on October 3rd at Union Station.


Proceeds from the Impact Awards benefit the educational programs and volunteer outreach of ULI of North Texas. ULI’s mission is to provide leadership in the responsible use of land and in sustaining and creating thriving communities worldwide.


In addition to the Vision Award, ULI presented Impact Awards in 4 distinct categories.  Applications for these awards were reviewed by a jury of experienced ULI members from across the US and representing multiple disciplines within real estate. Submissions were accepted for any of the categories below:

Innovation: Recognizes originality and creativity in design, placemaking, support for transit use, green techniques, financing (including public/private partnerships), innovative land use or community planning, or other development features.

Influence:  Seeks a project, policy or program that creates a positive impact beyond its immediate borders or catalyzes the development of the surrounding community, resulting in a lasting positive effect on the built environment.

Public Place:  Highlights a public sector, non-profit, public/private partnership or privately funded project providing the public enhanced civic, open or public space access or experiences.

Next Big Idea:  Submissions do not have to be completed projects! We seek innovative ideas that can positively impact the region’s quality of life, such as improving the quality of the built environment, the way in which planning and development are conducted, construction affordability, financing or other aspects of development.  What would make our region more resilient? More enjoyable?


OUR 2017 winners were…


Influence Award: 

  • Village of Rowlett, submitted by the City of Rowlett and Catalyst Development

Innovation Award: 

  • McKinney & Olive, submitted by Crescent Real Estate

Public Places Award: 

  • Eagle Family Plaza at the Dallas Museum of Art, submitted by Hocker Design Group

The Next Big Idea Award:

  • The Statler Corridor, submitted by Merriman Anderson Architects



2016 Impact Award Honorees included:


Influence Award Winner:
Prestwick STEM Academy
Submitted by Matthews Southwest


Innovation Award Winner:
Old Parkland Campus
Submitted by The Beck Group & GFF


Public Place Award Winner:
Tarrant County College Trinity East Campus
Submitted by Bennett Benner Partners


The Next Big Idea Winner:
North Texas to Houston High Speed Rail
Submitted by Texas Central


Inspiration Award Winner:
Rogers Road Pavilion (Woodshed Smokehouse)
Submitted by Bennett Benner Partners